Back to main site
Archive Index

4th Newcastle Mini Congress

Thirsty work! - just count those drinks.
As things hot up Dave Johnson and Nick Mclean appear to trade blows, watched by Dave Ross, front right.

The fourth Newcastle Mini attracted its biggest entry yet with 39 names down, though unfortunately one had to withdraw before the start of play. For the first time the top section was not an all play all; indeed its entry almost doubled to 11.

Despite odd numbers in various sections at various times I was able to arrange for all present to get games throughout.

Lest anyone should think it was a one man organising effort I shall pass on my thanks publically to Prize winners were
U165: First Craig Whitfield, second Alan Paling.
U120: First Pete Shaw, joint second Abdulbari Kabiri and Roger Walker.
U90:   First Nick McLean, joint second Julian Cook and Eliot Green.
Junior Prize: Matthew Kelly.
Kangaroo Prize: Robert Brock.

As ever the pictures on these pages have been cropped and degraded, though in several cases the originals are not wonderful! However originals are available if anyone really wants them.
Alan Paling and Steve Lloyd appear more interested in top board than their own games, whilst Alan Thomason seems not to want to look at anything.
U165 U120 U90
Back to main site
Archive Index